OrthodoxChristianity.net
October 26, 2014, 02:28:11 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Priesthood question....  (Read 3629 times) Average Rating: 0
Byzantine Catholic

« on: April 18, 2006, 11:17:50 PM »

Okay.  I'm the newbie here, so if this has been discussed to death, please forgive me.  I also hope that this doesn't open a serious can of worms, since I know that among some Orthodox, the word "Uniate" is akin to a very bad and vulgar ghetto swear word.

Do Orthodox consider the priesthood of the Byzantine Catholics to be valid?

If not, why not?

Thank you.

Ed -- great sinner

Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God,  have mercy on me a sinner!
Anastasios
Webdespota
Administrator
Merarches

Faith: Eastern Orthodox
Jurisdiction: Greek Old Calendarist

Metropolitan Chrysostomos of Florina

anastasios0513
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2006, 11:27:04 PM »

No, we don't officially, although some theologians have presented papers in support of the proposition.  Please do a search of the Orth-Cath folder in the archives to see where we discussed this at length.  The reason basically is we beleive apostolic succession is more than just hands on heads and the right formula and intention; the person must be in the communion of the church and share the same faith as the Church.  Byzantine Catholics, while very close to us, are not one with us for four hundred years now. So no, we cannot agree with their apostolic succession lest we be believers in magical sacraments that are divorced from a faith context.

I'm sorry if this sounds harsh. It was a bitter pill for me personally to swallow. But I know you from other forums and know you want straight answers.