OrthodoxChristianity.net
April 16, 2014, 12:15:32 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: The Rules page has been updated.  Please familiarize yourself with its contents!

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags CHAT Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: application error  (Read 1046 times) Average Rating: 0
frrv

OC.net

« on: December 16, 2005, 01:50:52 PM »

Hello all!
This is my first time to this forum and I have a computer question that I can make no headway in answering on my own.
For the past few weeks suddenly out of the blue every time I shut down my PC a notice pops up with the following:

CorUpd.exe      Application Error
The instruction at [a whole bunch of numbers & letters] referenced memory at [another whole bunch of numbers & letters!].
The memory could not be 'written'.
Press OK.

The last few sentences I might have a bit wrong as the notice disappears in about 30 seconds so it's difficult to read and remember the whole message.

Anyway what I want to ask is: 1) what is the cause of this 'Application error' and what does it mean? After doing a google search it seems the corupd.exe may relate to corel's update program for Wordperfect which I do have on my PC.  But what does this have to do with the error message only appearing as my PC is in the midst of shutting down?
I have done a number of virus scans using 3 different programs- there's no trace of a virus.
2) Why does the application only appear as my PC is in the midst of shutting down?
3) The most important thing of course is how to get rid of this problem.
(By the way the notice disappers after about 30 seconds even without pressing the OK on the notice- if that means something or not.)
Many thanks for any advice. I was glad to see a computer section on this forum.
In Christ

NULL
Bizzlebin
Theologian
High Elder

Faith: Orthodoxy
Jurisdiction: OCA

MonkBot, Go Forth!