Author Topic: Orthodox Bishop of Rome?  (Read 12745 times)

Offline Isaiah53IsMessiah

• Elder
  • Faith: Orthodox
Orthodox Bishop of Rome?
« on: August 12, 2019, 07:53:14 AM »
There is an Orthodox Patriarch of Alexandria and Antioch. How come a separate Patriarchate cannot be established in Rome if the current BOR of the Latin Church is in schism? I am no expert on the canons though so please inform my ignorance.
« Last Edit: August 12, 2019, 07:54:06 AM by Isaiah53IsMessiah »

Offline PorphyriosK

• OC.net guru
  • Господи помилуй
  • Faith: Russian Orthodox
  • Jurisdiction: ROCOR
Re: Orthodox Bishop of Rome?
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2019, 10:05:59 AM »
I think it's probably an acknowledgement that Rome is still the Patriarch of the West and the East has no right to simply usurp an entire patrimony.  Nor would it even be realistic considering the size, power, and influence of the Roman Catholic Church.  It would be seen as a joke.  Also, in spite of the separation there is still a hope that Rome will return to its first millennium roots and to its place of primacy. 
"When you don’t live with Christ, you live in melancholy, in sorrow, in anxiety and in worry. You don’t live properly… The best medicine is to devote yourself to the worship of Christ. Everything is cured. Everything works properly."

~ St. Porphyrios

"The Church is indeed 'Apostolic'.  But the Church is also 'Patristic'.  And only by being 'Patristic' is the Church continuously 'Apostolic'."

~ Fr. Georges Florovsky

Offline Iconodule

• Hoplitarches
  • Faith: Orthodox Christian
  • Jurisdiction: Patriarchate of Johnstown
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2019, 10:21:18 AM »
It would be a very grandiose and empty gesture, since said bishop would have a tiny flock and would be totally dependent on whichever foreign patriarchate(s) installed him there.