OrthodoxChristianity.net
September 02, 2014, 06:36:08 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Poll
Question: Are there any professional scientists that participate on this forum who are Orthodox?
Yes, I am a scientist. - 5 (83.3%)
No, I am not a scientist. - 1 (16.7%)
Total Voters: 6

Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Can you be a scientist and an Orthodox Christian?  (Read 2747 times) Average Rating: 0
jlerms
High Elder

Faith: Eastern Orthodox
Jurisdiction: GOA

O sweet Jesus, cleanse my soul.

« on: September 20, 2005, 10:04:02 AM »

Hello,
I was discussing with my husband (who is not christian) about the FSM (flying spaghetti monster) and Bobby Henderson's ideas.  If any of you are unfamiliar with his hilarious website here it is: www.venganza.org/   ÃƒÆ’‚ However it is apparant that BH is poking fun at religion.  Anyway, my husband said that he would be suprised if there were any true scientists who were Orthodox Christians because that "archaic religion" is not compatible with scientific empirical evidence.  Therefore I decided to take a poll here to see if there are any scientists who are Orthodox Christians.  Thanks for your help.
God bless you all,   ÃƒÆ’‚ Juliana Smiley
ania
Life according to Abe Simpson:
OC.net guru

« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2005, 10:12:16 AM »

There are scientists who are Orthodox.
Besides my own family, where there are 2 cousins currently studying bio-chemistry, I know many other Orthodox who work in the scientific fields.