Author Topic: Why don't the OO accept Chalcedon  (Read 672 times)

Offline Jackson02

• Lord have mercy on me a sinner
  • Faith: Eastern Orthodox
  • Jurisdiction: GOC-A
Why don't the OO accept Chalcedon
« on: May 24, 2017, 05:02:46 PM »
I'm new to Oriental Orthodoxy and would like to know, why the OO reject the council of Chalcedon?
« Last Edit: May 24, 2017, 05:05:16 PM by Jackson02 »
IC XC
NI KA

Online Mor Ephrem

• Take comfort in the warmth of the Jacuzzi of Oriental Orthodoxy
  • Section Moderator
  • Protospatharios
  • Pope Pius XIII, play for us!
    • OrthodoxChristianity.net
  • Faith: The Ancienter Faith
  • Jurisdiction: East
Re: Why don't the OO accept Chalcedon
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2017, 05:09:32 PM »
Oh boy...
The whole forum is Mor. We're emanations of his godlike mind.

Actually, Mor's face shineth like the Sun.

Offline minasoliman

• Mr., Sir, Dude, Guy, Male, tr. Minas in Greek, Menes in white people Egyptologists :-P
  • Section Moderator
  • Stratopedarches
  • Pray for me Sts. Mina & Kyrillos for my interviews
  • Faith: Oriental Orthodox
  • Jurisdiction: Coptic
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2017, 06:44:57 PM »
We seriously need a FAQ section for OOs.

Hmmmmmm...trying to see how to answer this one without stepping on toes...

Our Church took a particular theological principle that we felt was violated by this council.  We still stand by this principle today, but we understand that a whole lot of the problems at that time, according to discussions throughout the centuries and more recently in the 1960s, were more political and semantics than they were dogmatic.  Nevertheless, we stressed the principle of oneness in Christ, but to say "one nature" does not mean the integrity of either the humanity or the divinity is lost.  "One nature" was the preferred theological language of St. Cyril of Alexandria, and it was this emphasis that also stressed the importance of our oneness and deification in Christ.