OrthodoxChristianity.net
August 22, 2014, 07:49:42 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Hello, new to orthodoxy  (Read 1178 times) Average Rating: 0
newbiefound

« on: September 14, 2005, 01:57:24 PM »

I am completely new to orthodoxy,ÂÂ  I have been going to RCIA for a week now and recently I've looked into the big issues that the two of you differ on.ÂÂ  After studying these issues the best I could I came to realize that I favor your position on Original Sin (that it doesn't exist), the Pope not being supreme, and requiring everyone to take in the body and blood during communion.ÂÂ  There may be other major issues of controversy that I'm not aware of and if so please bring them to my attention if you would be so kind.ÂÂ  Today I looked into local orthodox churches and I didn't know how to get started.ÂÂ  I'll start calling them a few moments after I post this message.ÂÂ  

Please help me, how do I get started?ÂÂ  Is there a learning program I must endure before I can take in the communion?ÂÂ  Which church would be best for a beginner in the faith like myself?ÂÂ  Greek Orthodox?  Do you guys use the catechism?ÂÂ  Thank you for your help, I really appreciate it.

newbiefound
« Last Edit: September 14, 2005, 02:02:10 PM by newbiefound » Logged
donkeyhotay

Faith: Eastern Orthodox
Jurisdiction: Greek

"God, Who provides for all, will not desert us"

« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2005, 03:08:04 PM »

Welcome.

This website has a pretty complete list of churches.