Author Topic: Greetings  (Read 1107 times)

Offline Velko

• Faith: Orthodox Christian
Greetings
« on: March 01, 2017, 01:46:45 PM »
I wasn't sure where was the best thread to launch my introductory post so moderators please feel free to move this wherever you like.

My purpose here is to engage with other Orthodox Christians, to take part in discussion as well as for myself at least, to pose questions.

To provide a quick rundown of myself; I am a simple layman who was born into the Orthodox Church. In my youth I experimented with different forms of spiritualism while drifting away from my Christian roots. What brought me back was Christian orthodox mysticism, something that was never taught to me before, ever. I feel while growing up in the Church, the faith itself wasn't taught correctly, almost as if my "teachers" would just assume we would/should all follow. For lack of a better description, I felt as if I was expected to blindly follow without really understanding what I'm following. Being a critical thinker myself and one who seeks to understand everything I set my mind to begin a "journey" of my own, experimenting with meditation and the occult in general. This was a dark time, in actuality I became a nihilist. I "believed" in everything yet nothing. I questioned the authenticity of the Bible and like many "new-agers" saw Far-east religions as somewhat appealing. I never doubted the existence of Christ as a being, just the story itself and His significance. Being in this dark place I continued to search, in fact I never stopped looking even if I was temporarily stuck on a certain teaching, eventually I did an entire circle back to my roots. This happened ONLY because I began researching Christian Orthodoxy as a complete foreigner (even though I was born into it and knew our Traditions from a very young age), I read the history for the FIRST time (from a non-theological perspective) and most importantly I read about our mysticism. What I once thought to be on