Author Topic: Why I am not a Lutheran  (Read 6106 times)

Offline wgw

• All scorpions must DIE!!!
  • Taxiarches
  • This icon is of St. Athansius.
  • Faith: Christian
  • Jurisdiction: Orthodox
Why I am not a Lutheran
« on: September 15, 2016, 04:40:06 PM »
Although I have some experience with the LCMS and like their service book, I would never join a Lutheran church; how could one be a member of a church which names itself after a man who produced a book of filthy scatalogical images of the Jews and Satan with Lucas Cranach, who took it upon himself to edit the Bible, rejecting the Athanasian Canon and modifying the Epistle of St. Paul to the Romans, and who declared that we should "Sin boldly?"  He also broke his sacred monastic vows; in the case of his wife this was defensible because she was made a nun against her will, be in his case, he voluntarily became a friar over the objections of his father, and ought to have upheld his vows of celibacy even after separating from Rome.

Lastly, and most importantly, Luther was a heresiarch who did teach false doctrine regarding most of the sacraments.  And he even dared to speculate that polygamy might be acceptable for Christians!

That said, I do recognize that the Lutheran churches are not purely doctrinally Lutheran, but the fact they still bear his name is unacceptable to me.  My godfather Eugene was a pastor in the Augustana Synod and I believe he was a holy man, and there have certainly been many holy Lutherans, but alas none of them have apparently had the courage to stand up and say "We should reject this label." 

As Protestant churches in the Americas go, I do like the LCMA and the WELS, for their traditionalism, and the LCMA has a good hymnal, the only decent modern languahe hymnal I've seen, that retains some Orthodox litanies albeit with the petitions to the Theotokos and all the saints deleted.