OrthodoxChristianity.net
October 20, 2014, 10:19:47 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 »  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Is non-Orthodox Baptism valid?  (Read 5206 times) Average Rating: 0
Truth_or_Bust

Faith: Orthodox
Jurisdiction: ROCOR

« on: August 28, 2005, 08:25:11 AM »

Greetings,
I have a question.ÂÂ  I was baptised about six years ago by a fringe protestant preacher in a river.ÂÂ  Their faith is kinda
a mix of seventh day adventist and "ango-Israelism".ÂÂ  About three years ago I studied myself out of that mess but I
am wondering was the baptism itself valid? I was baptised in the name of "Yahshua", emersed one time.ÂÂ  From my studies
in the last two years I have found that many of the things I had believed do not match up with the Scriptures, including the
very name "Yahshua".ÂÂ  I am currently trying to find my place in Christiandom but at the same time feel disheartned as I bounce from
one belief to the next searching for the True meaning and practice that Christ taught.ÂÂ  

Any comments would help.

Thanks,
Truth_or_Bust
« Last Edit: August 28, 2005, 08:25:45 AM by Truth_or_Bust » Logged
Fr. David
The Poster Formerly Known as "Pedro"
Archon

Faith: Eastern Orthodox
Jurisdiction: OCA, Diocese of the South

« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2005, 09:32:25 AM »

Welcome to the forum, ToB.

Firstly, you can do a search through the Search function above and read other threads about the validity or non-validity debate.

Secondly, your questions:

I was baptised about six years ago by a fringe protestant preacher in a river...in the name of "Yahshua", emersed one time.