OrthodoxChristianity.net
September 22, 2014, 04:24:09 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Focus on crucifixion during Divine Liturgy?  (Read 457 times) Average Rating: 0
Anna.T
High Elder

Faith: Orthodox Catechumen
Jurisdiction: Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America

Lord have mercy! Κύριε, ἐλέησον!

« on: April 14, 2014, 01:40:24 PM »

This might more properly go in "faith" and if so, I apologize?

I was just wondering something. (And sorry, this is very basic I'm sure, I'm still new to all of this.)

The "point" of the Divine Liturgy is really about the Sacrament of the Eucharist, isn't it? And much of the liturgical reading leads up to that. I know it talks about the Last Supper and mentions the Eucharist as gifts, many times.

What I am wondering is, when I listen to this, my focus seems to be continually drawn to the Crucifixion, rather than necessarily the Last Supper or something else.

Is that an appropriate focus, would you say, from an Orthodox point of view?

I guess (and I may be wrong) something is making me feel as though it is the Crucifixion that "makes the Eucharist real" if that makes sense.

I suppose I am asking because I know there are charges leveled against Catholic that Christ is "re-sacrificed" (whether the charges are accurate or not, I don't know). And I want to make sure that my focus and mindset are really appropriate.

Thanks if anyone has any comments?

Christ is in our midst!

My replies should not be taken as representing Orthodox teaching - I am only just learning myself.

Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner.
hecma925
Non-clairvoyant
Taxiarches

Faith: Eastern Orthodox