OrthodoxChristianity.net
April 23, 2014, 06:46:51 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: The Rules page has been updated.  Please familiarize yourself with its contents!

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 »  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Catholic discovering an Orthodox treasure  (Read 1350 times) Average Rating: 0
JMJCatholic

Faith: Catholic

« on: May 28, 2013, 02:52:16 PM »

Hello,

I have recently (Paschatide) discovered the Greek Orthodox Church, and I have been attending Divine Liturgy there on Sunday and every possible opportunity.  I come from a Catholic background, and I had been attending a Traditional Latin Mass for many years, and it is no longer accessible to me.  I had to endure terrible liturgies in the new rite and was very disheartened.  God works in mysterious ways, as I have discovered the Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom at a Greek Orthodox Church, and when there, it is a little bit of heaven on earth! 

I have many questions, and the wonderful priest at the church has been answering many of them.   I am sure I will learn more and more as I read these board.

Is there anything anyone can recommend to me as someone learning?  Would it be OK if I continue to attend services without an intention to convert?  I am made to feel very welcome, but I am unsure if there is an expectation that someone like myself who attends all services has the intention to convert.  I know that I can not receive any sacraments, but I am invited to partake of the blessed bread distributed after the Liturgy. 

Strangely enough, even though the Liturgy is so different from what I was accustomed to, and even though it is in a language I don't understand, I am so much at home there, and the hours fly by! 

Thank you!

Joanna
Arachne
Trinary Unit || Resident Bossy Boots
Section Moderator
Archon

Faith: Greek Orthodox