OrthodoxChristianity.net
July 31, 2014, 11:56:16 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 »  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Economic Hardships Contributing to Cohabitation?  (Read 1320 times) Average Rating: 0
Luckster
Double Dipper

Faith: Orthodox
Jurisdiction: GOA

« on: April 11, 2013, 12:08:15 PM »

I work in retail management. I make enough that I can afford to pay my bills (including $400/month student loans), rent my own apartment, own my car, and have a few toys to play with. From a worldly perspective, I'm "successful", but using that same justification, most of my co-workers are not.  Retail is considered a "low wage, low skill" environment. Playing its employees $10/hour, a store rarely gives its employees full-time (40 hours) status; typically it's around 25-40% of its work force, while most receive 25-32 hours a week. Given the economic climate, many educated individuals have turned to the retail industry for work. But, with bills to pay and rising living expenses, young adults are turning towards moving in with their boyfriends/girlfriends, holding off on marriage, and producing children out of wedlock. 

There are studies available that indicate that cohabitation is on the rise, but they rarely explain why. From my limited experience, I would cite economic hardships. Although, how many Judge Judy cases involve cohabitating couples?  Someone bringing in $800 in take-home cash will struggle living on their own, as opposed to living with another. Not to mention, kids aren't stupid. They know there are certain...benefits...to living with boyfriend/girlfriend that a same-gender roommate can't provide.