OrthodoxChristianity.net
October 20, 2014, 11:14:07 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Daily Cycle  (Read 633 times) Average Rating: 0
brastaseptim
Protopsáltis
High Elder

Faith: Eastern Catholic
Jurisdiction: Byzantine Catholic Archeparchy of Pittsburgh

From BBC Louisiana to you, here's the morning news

« on: December 23, 2012, 04:33:38 PM »

I'm quite new to Eastern Christianity, and I'm having a few problems figuring things out liturgically- particularly the daily cycle. I happen to be a Byzantine Catholic in a town full of Sicilians. So I usually only am able to attend a Byzantine Liturgy when I'm out of town. To make up for this, I try my hardest to pray the daily cycle of services at home- at least Vespers, Compline and Orthros anyway. My problem is I'm  having to bend over backwords to figure out exactly what I need. Boy, does Eastern Christianity need a LOT of paperwork! What I mean by this, is I'm trying to say the reader services at home without all the other books- Menaion, Octoechos, Pentecostarion, Triodion, etc. Is there anyway to get everything sorted together, or abbreviated, or at least for the major feasts? The Stichera, Prokeimenons, Troparia, Kontakia, Doxastika, Theotokia, Exapostelara, Hypakoe, Anathnavio, etc.? It's all bloody confusing without the materials when the rubrics are calling for this canon and that stichera and these verses and that apolytikia. Any help or advice?

BBC news certified; The Guardian rejected; OC.net approved.
theistgal
Byzantine (Ruthenian) Catholic gadfly
Site Supporter
Archon

Faith: Follower of Jesus Christ
Jurisdiction: Byzantine Catholic

don't even go there!