OrthodoxChristianity.net
August 21, 2014, 05:59:20 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: For those converts from Protestant to Orthodox:Tell me about being a Catechumen  (Read 437 times) Average Rating: 0
ShootingStar

Faith: Former Mormon, now investigating the Orthodox faith.
Jurisdiction: Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America.

« on: October 19, 2012, 04:04:09 PM »

I have been attending a Greek Orthodox church for several months now, and am interested in the process of becoming a member. Technically, I have not been baptized (previous baptism is void).

Tell me your process of being an official Catechumen. Were you told specific books to read? Take a class on how to do the sign of the cross?

Thanks, and God Bless You!

~Kim in NV
Iconodule
Uranopolitan
Taxiarches

Faith: Orthodox Christian
Jurisdiction: OCA (Diocese of Eastern Pennsylvania)

"My god is greater."

« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2012, 04:11:41 PM »

I was not a Protestant but I don't think that matters. The most popular books for new people are Bishop Kallistos' books The Orthodox Way and The Orthodox Church. There is also the introductory book by Fr. Anthony Coniaris which I can't stand but which is used especially in the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese. My priest also had me read Andreyev's Orthodox Apologetic Theology and Elder Sophrony's His Life is Mine. I was given some other books to read but they were somewhat catered to my inclinations and probably aren't being used by too many priests.