OrthodoxChristianity.net
July 24, 2014, 11:41:47 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Newbie Questions  (Read 323 times) Average Rating: 0
Pne123

Faith: Catechumens
Jurisdiction: Antioch church of America

« on: September 24, 2012, 09:08:04 PM »

Hello. I am a complete newbie. My wife is on the way to becoming Orthodox and I am a possible inquirer but having a lot of trouble with faith n

I will post more about my and our journey but I need help.

I am in poor health and the priest said to us that a married couple is married for life in heaven but asexual. Is this true?  What if when I die my wife remarries, is she married to two people / souls. As awful as it sounds I do not want her to remarry because I have so very few friends and she has so many, I see her as my only friend. So I hang on tight to the idea?

Second I have read a lot on this site about the sin of masturbation. The only way sexuality can be fully satisfying is for mutual masturbation and my own masturbation. Is this sinful?  When I become Orthodox Lord willing if able, is it something I must confess?

Third. The parish is very small. Will the sole priest be the confessor for both my wife and I. That idea bothers me. Are there options and how I do I bring it to the priest?

The priest said to me that it may or may not be better for wife and I to become Orthodox together. Two years for me maybe.  My wife will be ready in three months and until I spoke to priest about how I feel.

I am prone to depression and I feel if my wife become Orthodox before me I will simply give up. My wife is so spiritual and I only have an weak faith that vacillates.