OrthodoxChristianity.net
October 25, 2014, 03:50:42 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: May i ask a question?  (Read 611 times) Average Rating: 0
rko

Faith: Working it out

« on: September 20, 2012, 01:56:43 PM »

I am a 'lapsed" Catholic considering Orthodoxy. so far, my exposure has been to eastern Orthodoxy (Antichian and Greek) because there are no oriental churches within 100 miles of me.

Unfortunately, because of my 50 years in the RCC, I am studying orthodoxy in a very Aristoliam=n way. And so my question relates to the claim of supremacy or primacy by the early popes.

before the Chalcedonian question came about in 451AD, what was the level of authority given the pope by the non-chalc churches? did they see the pope as the RCC would have us see him? Or is it as i have learned from the EO Churches, a 'primacy of honor?"

This is an important question to me, as the Chalcedonian issue was so very early in christianity.
mike
Stratopedarches

« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2012, 02:13:53 PM »

What Pope? There were two of them.

Byzantinism
no longer posting here
Jonathan
High Elder

Faith: Oriental Orthodox
Jurisdiction: Coptic

« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2012, 02:15:36 PM »

Definitely primacy of honour. Keep in mind that before the schism over Chalcedon, there was no division, so rather than asking in terms of EO/OO, it might make more sense to ask in terms of how did Alexandria, Jerusalem, Antioch, later Constantinople, and other smaller bishoprics relate to Rome.