OrthodoxChristianity.net
October 20, 2014, 05:12:06 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Howdy, another newbie here :)  (Read 840 times) Average Rating: 0
CatherineBrigid

Faith: Orthodox
Jurisdiction: ROCOR

@MamaKatOrr
« on: July 19, 2012, 03:04:53 PM »

Grin Hi everyone!  Grin Another Protestant inquirer here.  I have a friend who comes from an orthodox background, which is what initially sparked my curiosity, and have also been listening to Ancient Faith Radio regularly for well over a year, which has further deepened my curiosity.  laugh

Earlier this month I got a copy of The Orthodox Study Bible and started digging in...I feel like I'm discovering the Scripture all over again for the first time (tho I've read the protestant bible cover to cover several times, the notes, etc. in this one - not to mention the "extra" books included - are a whole different perspective.  It's kinda like looking at a gorgeous diamond from a whole 'nother side that you previously hadn't noticed before and learning about whole new facets you didn't even know where there).

I have also just started reading "The Orthodox Church."   Only about 65 pages in but am learning much so far. (and yes, before it's suggested, I did order "The Orthodox Way," several weeks ago from Amazon.com.  Snail-mail is being rather...snailish... it should, in theory, arrive by the end of next week.) 

At this moment I don't have any questions per se; I'm just sorta lurking and reading and absorbing.  Smiley