OrthodoxChristianity.net
July 30, 2014, 09:12:20 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 3 »  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: About Classical music  (Read 3649 times) Average Rating: 0
pengupk

Faith: catechumen for orthodox church
Jurisdiction: catechumen for orthodox church

« on: July 16, 2012, 11:52:44 AM »

Hi,

I am a finnish lutheran thinking of becoming an orthodox christian. Since I am a music school instrument teacher and active chamber musician, I would want to know what the orthodox think of classical music?

I read that after persecutions of christians in 4th century, many Church Fathers were against instrumental music but that nowadays for example St Seraphim of Platina and Elder Poryphorios have held classical music in high esteem. I guess there is not a single answer here and of course it depends on the music, but if someone could help me with this, I'd be happy. I have been thinking a lot that if classical music would be somehow sinful or bad for your soul since Church Fathers have been so much against it, but I guess it's because of music of 4th century was something totally different from music of our days and that it really depends on the music more than what instruments are being used.

And just to make sure, I'm not talking instrumental music in liturgy, only music as a job and as a career and as a pleasure.

Thank you all!
LizaSymonenko
Слава Ісусу Христу!!! Glory to Jesus Christ!!!
Global Moderator
Toumarches

Faith: God's Holy Catholic and Apostolic Orthodox Church
Jurisdiction: Ukrainian Orthodox Church of the U.S.A.

« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2012, 12:24:34 PM »

I'm Orthodox, and I love classical music!