OrthodoxChristianity.net
July 31, 2014, 05:41:42 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Matthew 16:18  (Read 843 times) Average Rating: 0
ConfusedRC

Faith: Roman Catholic
Jurisdiction: Archdiocese of Hanoi

« on: June 17, 2012, 11:21:56 PM »

Hello everyone,

I know I haven't posted in a while, but been extremely busy. Not only do I have a full time job, but I'm a full time grad student too. I can't wait for my graduation in September!

I'm sure you've answered this question before, but I could not really find anything using the search feature, so here it is: how does the Orthodox treat Matthew 16:18-19, where Jesus says he will build His Church on St. Peter?

I'm not asking to stump anyone. In a recent discussion with a priest, where I told him I was leaning towards Orthodoxy, he told me to reread Matthew 16. So I was hoping to get your feedback.
FormerReformer
Convertodox of the convertodox
Site Supporter
Archon

Faith: Eastern Orthodox
Jurisdiction: I'll take (e) for "all of the above"

« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2012, 11:35:49 PM »

Hello everyone,

I know I haven't posted in a while, but been extremely busy. Not only do I have a full time job, but I'm a full time grad student too. I can't wait for my graduation in September!

I'm sure you've answered this question before, but I could not really find anything using the search feature, so here it is: how does the Orthodox treat Matthew 16:18-19, where Jesus says he will build His Church on St. Peter?

I'm not asking to stump anyone. In a recent discussion with a priest, where I told him I was leaning towards Orthodoxy, he told me to reread Matthew 16. So I was hoping to get your feedback.