OrthodoxChristianity.net
October 23, 2014, 12:43:29 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Catechumenate  (Read 900 times) Average Rating: 0
Big Chris
Formerly "mint"
Elder

Faith: Inquirer
Jurisdiction: Roman Catholic Diocese of Charlotte, NC

I live by the river where the old gods still dream

« on: April 04, 2012, 10:13:41 AM »

Hi,

I have been Roman Catholic for the past 5 years.  I was confirmed as a Catholic on April 7, 2007.  Prior to converting to Catholicism, I was raised (shoddily) as Baptist (until my parents divorced) and then was baptized in the United Church of Christ; however, I never really understood or accepted the Christian faith.  I studied early Church history while at university and during the summers at home attempting to find solid intellectual evidence that Christianity was bunk; however, along the way, I discovered my need for faith, and later realized that this need wasn't being nourished at my local UCC church.  I realized that the ancient, New Testament Church was present in the Roman Catholic and/or Orthodox Churches, but despite my research I failed to note the discrepancies between the two churches since 1054 AD and how each had developed since then.  As a result, I failed to take a number of things into consideration and just assumed both were equal representatives of the apostolic faith.  Also, Catholicism had a much more definite presence than Orthodoxy.  It somehow just seemed easier to go with Catholicism at the time.