OrthodoxChristianity.net
July 29, 2014, 09:02:39 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: New to fasting  (Read 399 times) Average Rating: 0
Priolo Gargallo

Faith: Greek Catholic
Jurisdiction: Heritage~ Italo Greek; attending OCA

« on: March 08, 2012, 06:04:36 PM »

As the title states, I'm new to fasting In the Byzantine tradition, and I have refrained from meat and dairy every day except the past two Sundays, but today I had my mothers salmon and a little egg in my fried rice. I'm just wondering if my feeling of guilt is me just being over scrupulous or if I have done something wrong? Does anyone have any advice or insight? Thanks!

Most holy Theotokos, save us!
Manalive
Иоанн
Elder

Faith: Russian Orthodox
Jurisdiction: Moscow Patriarchate

It is later than we think.

« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2012, 06:11:08 PM »

I think that's a good effort you're putting forward. You work yourself into the fasting. It's very hard to jump right in especially when your are still just inquiring. I had a hard time keeping the fast when I first started learning about Orthodoxy and became a catechumen.

And remember without increase in prayer to go along with your fasting, fasting from food is just the fast of the demons. Wink

"Lay hold of the pathway... rugged and narrow as it is."- St. John Chrystostom
scamandrius
Crusher of Secrets; House Lannister
Warned
Taxiarches

Faith: Greek Orthodox Christian
Jurisdiction: Greek by desire; Antiochian by necessity

« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2012, 10:31:25 PM »