Author Topic: Has anyone been terminated from a job because they rocked the boat?  (Read 1075 times)

Offline Shiny

• Site Supporter
  • Toumarches
  • Paint It Red
Too make a very long story short, there has been some recent developments in my workplace that has caused me to escalate an issue to my HR group.

I am a person that is very vocal about injustices, unfairness, etc in the workplace. I have never done a formal HR investigation before either.

My question is has anyone ever escalated an issue at the workplace and were you then terminated because of it or because of it made you even a bigger target then normal?
“There is your brother, naked, crying, and you stand there confused over the choice of an attractive floor covering.”

– St. Ambrose of Milan

Offline biro

• Site Supporter
  • Stratopedarches
  • Excelsior
    • Archive of Our Own works
Re: Has anyone been terminated from a job because they rocked the boat?
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2012, 11:53:42 PM »
Not me. But sorry that it's happened to you.

Lord have mercy.
https://archiveofourown.org/users/Parakeetist

Warning: stories have mature content.

Offline LizaSymonenko

• Слава Ісусу Христу!!! Glory to Jesus Christ!!!
  • Global Moderator
  • Hoplitarches
    • St.Mary the Protectress Ukrainian Orthodox Cathedral
  • Faith: Eastern Orthodox
  • Jurisdiction: Ukrainian Orthodox Church of the U.S.A.
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2012, 12:12:28 AM »

I hope you weren't terminated!    :o

One has to weigh all possible outcomes before lodging a complaint....and whether or not it's worth it....and the gravity of it.

If someone is being abused, misused, etc...then no matter the outcome, you have to help them.

However, if it's just that one worker is being lazy, coming in late or stole some paperclips....then I would keep my mouth shut.