OrthodoxChristianity.net
October 25, 2014, 06:45:44 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Top Ten Saints  (Read 3268 times) Average Rating: 0
trifecta
Fairly newly illumined

Faith: Orthodox
Jurisdiction: OCA

« on: December 21, 2007, 11:14:57 AM »

I was recently explaining to a friend (by email) who St. Athanasius was.
I said he was a top 10 non-apostolic saint in Orthodoxy.

Then, it occurred to me, who are the top 10 non-apostolic saints?

I'm relatively new to all this, so, I am asking you.

born Catholic, became a Protestant, now and hereafter an Orthodox Christian
Veniamin
Fire for Effect!
Archon

Faith: Orthodox Christian
Jurisdiction: OCA Diocese of the South

St. Barbara, patroness of the Field Artillery

« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2007, 11:25:35 AM »

Hmm....just my opinion, but St. Nicholas of Myra and St. Mark of Ephesus would both have to be in there.  St. John Chrysostom, of course.  So many to choose from, though, so I'm not sure who else I would include.

Artillery adds dignity to what would otherwise be a vulgar brawl. ~Frederick the Great
Fr. George
formerly "Cleveland"
Administrator
Stratopedarches

Faith: Orthodox (Catholic) Christian
Jurisdiction: GOA - Metropolis of Pittsburgh

May the Lord bless you and keep you always!

« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2007, 12:09:33 PM »

I was recently explaining to a friend (by email) who St. Athanasius was.
I said he was a top 10 non-apostolic saint in Orthodoxy.

Then, it occurred to me, who are the top 10 non-apostolic saints?

I'm relatively new to all this, so, I am asking you.

In terms of their honor amongst the Orthodox?