OrthodoxChristianity.net
July 25, 2014, 03:02:43 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Receiving the Holy Spirit?  (Read 2743 times) Average Rating: 0
JenniferF

Faith: Orthodox
Jurisdiction: GOA

« on: October 28, 2011, 04:15:07 PM »

I was raised Southern Baptist and was saved and baptized as a child.  I was taught that you receive the Holy Spirit when you are "saved"/"born again".  I do feel like I received the Holy Spirit then...because I felt such an amazing peace and comfort in my heart and soul.  I have been inquiring into Orthodoxy for a few months now.  I have been meeting with the priest, reading books he has recommended and started a class at my parish.  I have been reading posts on this board for a month or so, as well.  I have tried searching for an answer to this question however...I haven't come across it.  So, if this has been asked before please link me to the answers...

If you were or felt like you had been "saved" before and received the Holy Spirit and you converted to Orthodox, did you feel it again or did you feel any differently after you were Chrismated?  Also, if you are a cradle Orthodox have you just always felt the Holy Spirit with you since you were a baby?

Maybe, with my background I am basing too much off of a "feeling".  But it has been very real to me and I wanted to know what the experience has been for those who have converted as well as cradle Orthodox.   

I don't know if I was even able to communicate my question adequately or not...? 
HabteSelassie
Ises and I-ity
Archon

Faith: Oriental Orthodox
Jurisdiction: Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church

« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2011, 04:27:36 PM »