OrthodoxChristianity.net
September 30, 2014, 04:42:00 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Could use some guidance with Liturgical terminology  (Read 879 times) Average Rating: 0
leap of faith

Faith: Orthodox Catholic
Jurisdiction: GOARCH

« on: October 09, 2011, 10:57:49 PM »

When I first requested a meeting with our "local" Orthodox priest (It's 100 miles to the nearest parish), I had been studying and reading about Orthodoxy off and on for several years.  He very, very wisely encouraged me to come to Liturgy to experience Orthodoxy.  All I can say is, "Wow!!"  I'm now a Catechumen and he continues to be a source of wisdom and encouragement whose shoulder I tap upon often for further understanding.  I do hesitate to become a bother, so perhaps I can ask someone here to help me with this one.  I really...I mean, REALLY...struggle with all of the liturgical terminologies.  Matins, Orthros, Vespers, Compline and then the countless terms for the various parts of the Divine Liturgy.  Is there some sort of "cheat sheet" for all of these?  A book?  ANYTHING!!  I'm desperate.  Our parish is Greek, but my family is spread around the country so I will routinely be visiting non-Greek parishes.  
FormerReformer
Convertodox of the convertodox
Site Supporter
Archon

Faith: Eastern Orthodox
Jurisdiction: I'll take (e) for "all of the above"

« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2011, 11:20:26 PM »

How about you post the ones you have questions on as the questions pop up? There's just so many  Grin

The Orthodox wiki is always a good resource.

For what you've posted so far-