OrthodoxChristianity.net
September 02, 2014, 10:47:31 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Guilty as charged  (Read 1178 times) Average Rating: 0
kevjminn

Faith: Orthodox Christian
Jurisdiction: OCA

« on: August 23, 2011, 08:40:17 PM »

Hello all.

I am feeling really guilty as of late. I had been questioning my faith the last few months, and started looking at Roman Catholicism. I attended a few Eastern liturgies and didn't see much of a difference. But once I started looking into their teachings, I found that the OC and RC are VERY different.

I haven't attended an Orthodox liturgy in about 6 months. Is this something I should confess to a priest? I am fairly new to Orthodoxy, and I don't know if these thoughts and feelings are considered sinful or not. I plan on attending vespers and liturgy this weekend and would like to receive the eucharist, but I don't know if a confession is necessary or not. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.

thanks in advance,

Kevin
Benjamin the Red
Recovering Calvinist
OC.net guru

Faith: Orthodox Catholic
Jurisdiction: Orthodox Church in America, Diocese of Dallas and the South ||| American Carpatho-Russian Orthodox Diocese

Have mercy on me, O God, have mercy on me.

« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2011, 08:47:34 PM »

Hello all.

I am feeling really guilty as of late. I had been questioning my faith the last few months, and started looking at Roman Catholicism. I attended a few Eastern liturgies and didn't see much of a difference. But once I started looking into their teachings, I found that the OC and RC are VERY different.