Author Topic: Pregnant Mother Shot and Killed; Baby in Critical Condition  (Read 943 times)

Offline britgirl

• I'm a smarmy college student.
  • إسمي عائشة وأنا طالبة في جامعة :)
Pregnant Mother Shot and Killed; Baby in Critical Condition
« on: August 18, 2011, 11:40:40 AM »
Prayers for the family of this young woman and for her baby. Prayers also for the mother of this young woman, who will now be raising the two children while battling breast and bone cancer.
Lord have mercy.
<http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/44174158/ns/us_news-crime_and_courts/t/pregnant-teen-shot-dead-baby-fighting-his-life/#.Tk0xxYL2qzZ>
CHICAGO — A teenager six months pregnant was shot dead Tuesday night, but doctors were able to deliver her baby, who was "fighting for his life" in a hospital, according to local media reports.

Police identified the victim as Charinez Jefferson, 17. She was shot multiple times in the chest and head in the Marquette Park neighborhood, NBC Chicago reported.

Detectives said Jefferson was walking on a street with a male companion and several other people when someone opened fire.

"I really don't know what happened," her mother, Debbie Jefferson, told the Chicago Tribune. "She was going to the corner store. She stopped to talk to a guy she knew and someone drove up and opened fire. That's what I've been told. I got down there but they already roped it off. I couldn't get to her.

"I don't believe she was the intended target. She was in the wrong place at the wrong time," she added.

Paramedics found Charinez Jefferson in cardiac arrest and in critical condition. She was taken to a local hospital where she was pronounced dead. Doctors were able to deliver the baby boy.

"The baby is pretty much fighting for his life," Debbie Jefferson told the Tribune. "He lost some oxygen and the doctors say there could be health issues."