Author Topic: The meaning of the word 'jihad'  (Read 1058 times)

Offline biro

• Site Supporter
  • Stratopedarches
  • Excelsior
The meaning of the word 'jihad'
« on: October 29, 2016, 03:17:19 PM »
Andrew Cuomo also has been waging a jihad against pro-Palestine groups, for what it's worth, not a friend to Arab Orthodox.

You mean not waging a jihad. Or you don't know what jihad means.
In a time of chimpanzees, I was a monkey

Offline xOrthodox4Christx

• Taxiarches
  • Searching for the mystery of faith.
  • Faith: Orthodox Catholic Church
  • Jurisdiction: Orthodox Church in America
Re: The meaning of the word 'jihad'
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2016, 03:23:48 PM »
Andrew Cuomo also has been waging a jihad against pro-Palestine groups, for what it's worth, not a friend to Arab Orthodox.

Of course I do, I studied Arabic. Jihad just means struggle. He's been trying to shut down anti-Israel and pro-Palestine opposition. That's a jihad.
"Let books be your dining table, / And you shall be full of delights. / Let them be your
mattress,/And you shall sleep restful nights" (St. Ephraim the Syrian)

Offline Dominika

• Troublesome Sheep
  • Section Moderator
  • Archon
  • Serbian/Polish
    • My youtube channel
  • Faith: Orthodox Christian
  • Jurisdiction: POC, but my heart belongs to Antioch
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2016, 03:27:13 PM »

Of course I do, I studied Arabic. Jihad just means struggle. He's been trying to shut down anti-Israel and pro-Palestine opposition. That's a jihad.

Yeah, especially spiritual struggle. It's quite an equivalent to Church Slavonic "podvig".
Pray for persecuted Christians, especially in Serbian Kosovo and Raška, Egypt and Syria

Offline scamandrius

• Pray for our next president
  • Merarches
  • Faith: Greek Orthodox
  • Jurisdiction: DOWAMA of AANA
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2016, 04:02:48 PM »

Jihad is more than simply a struggle.  By that definition, my 6 month old son has a "jihad" every day.

• Taxiarches