OrthodoxChristianity.net
August 01, 2014, 10:30:06 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Edema from standing too long (during Divine Liturgy)  (Read 1525 times) Average Rating: 0
Xenia1918
High Elder

Faith: Praying for Divine guidance

« on: August 07, 2011, 09:34:59 PM »

I have an embarassing problem that seems to have developed since I began attending Divine Liturgy in Orthodox Churches: my feet and ankles swell from standing too long, and its hard to walk afterward.

I don't have the problem that much in some churches, the ones with pews...but the Russian ones without pews are rough...the last one I went to, I took my son and I'm glad I did: my feet and ankles swelled up so much he had to help me get out the door...we went to a local eatery where I elevated my legs on a chair while we had lunch, until the swelling went down.

I'm going to my dr tomorrow afternoon to find out what's going on....its possible the standing has brought out a hidden medical condition I would not have known about otherwise.

Does anyone else have a problem like this? If so, what do you do about it?
« Last Edit: August 07, 2011, 09:35:36 PM by Xenia1918 » Logged

"O God, enlarge within us the sense of fellowship with all living things, our brothers the animals to whom Thou gavest the earth as their home in common with us..." (from the Prayer of St Basil the Great)

REAL RC: http://www.traditionalmass.org
REAL OC: http://www.orthodoxinfo.com
biro
Excelsior
Site Supporter
Toumarches

Faith: Orthodox Christian
Jurisdiction: Greek Orthodox Church

Και κλήρονομον δείξον με, ζωής της αιωνίου

fleem
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2011, 09:37:01 PM »