OrthodoxChristianity.net
April 20, 2014, 12:17:58 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: The Rules page has been updated.  Please familiarize yourself with its contents!

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Best way to begin inquiring...?  (Read 893 times) Average Rating: 0
britgirl
I'm a smarmy college student.

Faith: Inquirer
Jurisdiction: Antiochian?

إسمي عائشة وأنا طالبة في جامعة :)

« on: August 04, 2011, 05:24:04 PM »

Hello, all!
I am new to OC.net but I've already learned so much about Orthodox Christianity through this site. This site really is a blessing.

Anyway, I am a 19 year old college student. I go to school in Boston, but I don't live there. I've been interested in Orthodox Christianity for a few months now and once I return to Boston, I am interested in attending a service (should I attend a Vespers service or a Divine Liturgy?). 
My question is, what should I know about attending a service? I've already read Presbytera Frederica Mathewes-Green's "12 things I wish I'd known", but I feel like it is an explanation of behaviors of the faithful, instead of appropriate actions for non-Orthodox during a service.
Additionally, I'd like to take the steps in order to become a catechumen. How would I go about this? I'd love some input.
In Christ,
Britgirl

"Commit thy works unto the LORD, and thy thoughts shall be established." - Proverbs 16:3

"There never was a good war or a bad peace." --Ben Franklin

يا ربّ ارحم

It ain't me talking fast, it's just you listening slow.

International Relations: Middle East/Africa; Muslim Studies (B.A. 2014)
Gamliel
OC.net guru

Faith: Greek Orthodox
Jurisdiction: Metropolis of San Francisco

« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2011, 05:32:30 PM »

Check out Kallistos Ware's  The Orthodox Church, and welcome.
IsmiLiora
Chronic Exaggerator
Archon

Faith: One step closer!