OrthodoxChristianity.net
August 20, 2014, 04:51:44 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Orthodox Church in China?  (Read 890 times) Average Rating: 0
NightOwl
High Elder

« on: May 26, 2011, 06:19:38 PM »

I'm currently studying Chinese in university and plan on studying abroad there. What is the situation of the Chinese Orthodox Church? Is the Liturgy still celebrated regularly in Beijing for example?

Thanks!
CRCulver
OC.net guru

Faith: Eastern Orthodox
Jurisdiction: Church of Finland and Romanian Orthodox Church

St Stephen of Perm, missionary to speakers of Komi

« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2011, 06:40:29 PM »

I'm currently studying Chinese in university and plan on studying abroad there. What is the situation of the Chinese Orthodox Church? Is the Liturgy still celebrated regularly in Beijing for example?

When I was last in Beijing in 2007, the only Orthodox parish I could find was at the Russian embassy (entry to which was prohibited to non-Russians.) The Communist government seized the Orthodox parishes in other cities decades ago and the churches are now used for different purposes. The one in Shanghai is now a Spanish (IIRC) restaurant.

There is a functioning parish in Harbin.

Hong Kong is separate from the rest of China when it comes to freedom of religion. There's a nice parish in Central (on like the 20th floor of a skyscraper).
« Last Edit: May 26, 2011, 06:46:26 PM by CRCulver » Logged
Antonis
"The Most Honourable The Morquess of Something"
OC.net guru

Faith: Orthodox Christian
Jurisdiction: Greek Orthodox Metropolis of San Francisco Outside of San Francisco

You must try this Balkan blend, Barsanuphius.