OrthodoxChristianity.net
July 23, 2014, 04:36:51 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: My priest hasn't really given me any options on becoming a Catechumen  (Read 1425 times) Average Rating: 0
NMHS
Site Supporter

Jurisdiction: UOC

« on: April 02, 2011, 05:23:18 PM »

I will start off by saying I live 3 hours away from the nearest OC mission so the distance is a hindrance as well as my job has me working weekends from March to August every year so that also turns into a hindrance.  I have been inquiring about Orthodoxy for two years now and I have started to ask my local preist about becoming Orthodox. 

I have not wanted to be pushy and I still don't want to be pushy, but over the last couple years and really over the last month I have expressed much sincerity in becoming Orthodoxy.  I have told him I would move forward with any advice he has for this situation and the advice he gave was that we should meet together and he would give me a prayer rule as he does for others that are Orthodox or Orthodox at heart.  He is aware of the long distance as a hindrance and the difficulties that lie between my wife (RC) and I with my possible conversion but I can't help start to wonder if my distance is a problem for becoming Orthodox or the possiblity of my wife not becoming Orthodox a hindrance.  I don't know though because he hasn't responded very much to my inquiries.