OrthodoxChristianity.net
July 25, 2014, 07:41:03 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Do Catholic schools hire Orthodox teachers?  (Read 1325 times) Average Rating: 0
Iconodule
Uranopolitan
Taxiarches

Faith: Orthodox Christian
Jurisdiction: OCA (Diocese of Eastern Pennsylvania)

"My god is greater."

« on: April 11, 2011, 02:13:48 PM »

I'm a certified teacher looking for a permanent position. I was wondering if anyone here has experience of the inner workings of Catholic school systems. The official requirements of the Archdiocese of Philadelphia say that an applicant must be a "practicing Catholic" and provide a letter from his pastor. Naturally that must imply communion with Rome but I wonder if Orthodox Christians have managed to get hired as being "close enough" to Catholic.

"A riddle or the cricket's cry
Is to doubt a fit reply." - William Blake

Quote from: Byron
Just ignore iconotools delusions. He is the biggest multiculturalist globalist there is due to his unfortunate background.
Justin Kissel
Formerly Asteriktos
Protospatharios

Faith: BZZT

« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2011, 04:00:54 PM »

If memory serves, the priest of the Antiochian Church in which I was chrismated taught at a local Catholic school. Unfortunately he is no longer at the parish, and I don't know where he is, or I'd give you his email address.

Optimist: Throw enough ideas at the wall and one is bound to stick.
Pessimist: Throw enough poo at the wall and the room is bound to stink.
Realist: You don't really need to throw things at walls to solve problems.
podkarpatska
Warned
Merarches

Faith: Orthodox
Jurisdiction: ACROD

SS Cyril and Methodius Church, Mercer, PA