OrthodoxChristianity.net
August 30, 2014, 06:32:05 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: book review in THE LATIN MASS  (Read 2350 times) Average Rating: 0
pacara

« on: December 10, 2002, 07:02:56 PM »

Hello to all! Since I am new to this board, I would like to make a brief introductory comment before moving on to the subject outlined above:

In terms of my relationship to Orthodoxy, I would describe myself as a "seeker";  I've been attending an OCA parish for almost 6 months and hope ( God willing ) to be received into the Church within a year or two. Now, on to the subject.

The Fall 2002 issue of THE LATIN MASS contains a review of a book ( "The Russian Church and the Papacy" by Vladimir Soloviev ) by author HW Crocker III. Mr. Crocker makes some fairly outrageous statements that deserve to be known outside of the circle of that magazines' normal readership.

( since the board forbids posting any copyrighted material in its entirety, I hope I will be forgiven for quoting selectively )

1st EXCERPT:

"...As Newman might have said, but didn't, 'To be deep in history is to realize that the Eastern Orthodox are crazy'. They are now, they were then, and they always have been."

2nd EXCERPT: