OrthodoxChristianity.net
September 01, 2014, 04:00:49 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Baptism in the name of the Holy Trinity  (Read 1397 times) Average Rating: 0
abdedaloho

Faith: Oriental Orthodox
Jurisdiction: Syrian Orthodox

St. Severus "The Crown of Syrians"

« on: January 25, 2011, 03:28:05 PM »

Shlomo,

I am quite new to OC.net and in the short time that I have been here, I have been tremendously benefited from the discussions here.

Please excuse me if this has been discussed already..

My query is about the Sacrament of Baptism.

I am aware that the Baptism should be always in the name of the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit. If the Baptism is performed in the name of Jesus alone, will it be still considered a valid Baptism ?  I have seen those holding on to this view pointing to Acts 19:2-5 and Acts 10:48 to show that the baptism performed in Jesus's name alone is also valid.

What would be the Orthodox view on this ? And, if it should be always in the name of the Holy Trinity, any particular reasons for the same ?

If this has been already discussed, could you please direct me to those discussions ?

Thank you all very much.

God Bless !!!

"He became what we are so that he might make us what he is." — St. Athanasius of Alexandria
ialmisry
There's nothing John of Damascus can't answer
Warned
Hypatos

Faith: جامعي Arab confesssing the Orthodox Faith of the One, Holy, Catholic and Apostolic Church
Jurisdiction: Antioch (for now), but my heart belongs to Alexandria

« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2011, 06:38:33 PM »

Shlomo,