OrthodoxChristianity.net
October 22, 2014, 09:51:05 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: New user saying hi  (Read 876 times) Average Rating: 0
CyberSponge
A cybernetic sponge

OC.net

« on: June 10, 2004, 03:33:29 AM »

Hi folks,

Let me introduce myself.  I'm an Orthodox Christian and currently attend an OCA parish (although I was chrismated into an Antiochian parish about 14 years ago).  I have been reading messages on orthodoxchristianity.net, and although I generally don't like debates since they're usually frustrating, I tend to learn a lot from them.

Anyway, I'm introducing myself on the NC page mainly b/c I have a fondness for the Coptic church.  I'm a grad student now, but last year when I was an undergrad, I was involved with the Orthodox Christian Fellowship (OCF) at my last school, and occasionally a coptic would come.  I am generally quite impressed by the character of the Coptics.  I also post here b/c I've been thinkling/reading some about RCC and EO dialogues, along with some about the persecution of Christians in the middle east.  My heart aches for them!  What also hurts is when many terrible mistakes are made (e.g. Byzantine persecution of Coptics), which just opens the way for a greater evil (persecution by the muslims).  I remember my priest one time commenting about how in many ways, the Coptics weren't so resistant towards the muslims b/c at that time the Byzantine yoke was worse!  Don't quote me on that, though.  Wink  My other thought is about the RCC and EO possible "union."  After reading several commentaries on different message boards, along with googling about the whole thing, it seems like any kind of reunion will basically i