OrthodoxChristianity.net
August 20, 2014, 06:52:11 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: what would be appropriate in my situation?  (Read 511 times) Average Rating: 0
Victoria

Faith: inquirer in Orthodox Faith

« on: December 06, 2010, 04:20:04 PM »

I’m new to OC(attended services for couple of months) and last time I was chastised by one of the ladies who saw me taking a sip of water during service. I have a chronic medical condition that at times, makes me feel nauseated and dizzy, so I usually keep a small bottle of water handy in my purse in case I start feeling sick which is what happened last time. When I mentioned my situation, this lady said that if I feel the need to have some water, I should step outside since they don’t allow any drinks inside.
Is that correct? I’m new to this and not sure of all the customs. I was rather embarrassed to ask my priest about something so trivial unfortunately, its also embrassing to step outside every time i need a sip of water. What should i do?

Humility and fear of God are above all virtues-Saint John Kolobos
Schultz
Christian. Guitarist. Zymurgist. Librarian.
Taxiarches

Faith: Orthodox Christian
Jurisdiction: OCA

Scion of the McKeesport Becks.

« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2010, 04:26:17 PM »

This just sounds like a nebby woman who should have been focusing on her own prayers rather than looking around for something to complain about.  It would probably make you feel better, though, to mention it to the priest and ask for his guidance in a) what you should do when you feel the need to take a sip of water and b) how to handle the more ungracious members of his flock.