OrthodoxChristianity.net
April 24, 2014, 12:23:39 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: The Rules page has been updated.  Please familiarize yourself with its contents!

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Having an issue attenting a Protestant church this upcoming Sunday  (Read 3098 times) Average Rating: 0
Shiny
Site Supporter
Banned
Toumarches

Faith: Groucho Marxist
Jurisdiction: Dahntahn Stoop Haus

Paint It Red

« on: November 21, 2010, 04:50:20 PM »

Greetings to all,

As some of you know I have expressed a deep interest in becoming Orthodox, for me the appeal was it's theology (which is sound) and it's history. However since I am new to the Orthodox faith it is hard to fight against the Protestant prejudice that occurs within my family, many of them are very confused on why I approach things a certain way (For example I do not interprete the Bible on my own, but leave that to the Church since the Bible is supposed to be in the context of the Church).

This Sunday my father would like me to attend his church with him and his new wife, since his wife's dad will be preaching for the first time. My issue is I do not feel right at all in a protestant church anymore, it's just not where my heart is and I do not feel the presence of Christ. I feel as if I attend Sunday, I will be missing out on how important it is for me to attend my own Orthodox church Sunday.

It sounds selfish of me I know, but I don't know how to approach it. I know it may not be a big deal to miss one day, but it means way too much to me to miss it. I feel as though my communion with God is weakened if I miss a day of service, am I blowing this out of porportion too much?

“There is your brother, naked, crying, and you stand there confused over the choice of an attractive floor covering.”

– St. Ambrose of Milan
PoorFoolNicholas
Site Supporter
OC.net guru