OrthodoxChristianity.net
August 23, 2014, 03:13:40 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Orthodox interpretation of the Bible  (Read 2829 times) Average Rating: 0
Brent

Anglican Investigating Orthodoxy

« on: November 30, 2002, 01:07:16 AM »

I'm curious about the Orthodox interpretation of the Bible regarding
modern scholarship. Like what is the interpretation of the Creation,
a literal six-day time period or perhaps longer? Does the Orthodox
Church have a position on evolution?

Thanks,
Brent
David
OC.net guru

Faith: Orthodox Christian
Jurisdiction: OCA (Diocese of the South)

Retired GM

« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2002, 07:41:01 PM »

Brent,

As an Orthodox layman I consider myself fairly well versed with some of the teachings of the Church so I will state that the below is the position of the Church, but I can always be wrong so I humbly solicit correction from others if I misspeak.

Both your questions(Orthodox positions on chronological length of the creation period and the theory of evolution) is that the Church has no dogmatical stance on either issue.   I think if you polled most hierarchs, clergy, and layman, you would find that most hold a longer creation timeline and that many if they follow evolution at all, hold strictly to microevolution and not macroevolution.  However as this is not a "dealbreaker" you will find varied Orthodox opinion.