OrthodoxChristianity.net
August 23, 2014, 05:43:01 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Here I go...and a question!  (Read 652 times) Average Rating: 0
Colin

Faith: Mainline Protestant

« on: October 03, 2010, 12:42:23 AM »

(I apologise if this sounds a bit disjointed, try to bear with me)

Been meaning to post here for a while, finally worked up the courage to do so tonight.

My name's Colin and I'm a college student looking for answers. Over the past few years I've realized that I've needed to become serious about religion and my relationship with God. As a child, I was brought up Evangelical Lutheran (father was staunchly Lutheran until a few years ago, mother was RC until the late 80s when she converted to Lutheranism), but not too long after I was confirmed, I fell into a malaise about religion in general and slipped into a sort of vague Voltairean deism. Never was an atheist, but I now see that deism's pretty close to it. In any case, last year my father decided to leave Lutheranism because of liturgical reforms and began attending an Episcopal church. Wanting to try to get back closer to God, I decided to start going and attended fairly regularly. I enjoyed the services, yes, but I felt there was something lacking.