OrthodoxChristianity.net
July 31, 2014, 07:52:43 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Sola-Scriptura...  (Read 5751 times) Average Rating: 0
Seafra

Faith: British Orthodox hopeful

It's in the shelter of each other that people live

Mr.Dougherty
« on: May 27, 2010, 06:41:56 AM »

Hello! I am new to the  boards and have been studying Orthodoxy for about 8 months now. Personally i subscribe to Sola-Scriptura but dont believe it conflicts with Holy tradition. I want to requote my post form "is protestantism heretical"

Hello I am new here have been studying Orthodox Church since I Joined the International House Of Prayer in Kansas City ... On a different note I found this site from a article mentioned before about Sola Scriptura. I read the article and was quite impressed mainly because I have no problem with Holy Tradition but I would like to ask an opinion. personally I have only applied Sola Scriptura as an interpretative rule. by this I mean I use scripture to interpret scripture. I do have a hard time accepting things not in scripture but I believe it is more than possible for God to have preserved His blessed church and I firmly believe the human soul cries out for tradition ... I personally would like to think I'm not a heretic I have nothing against the Holy traditions I am actually searching out the scriptures to legitimize them, where you would say it isn't necessary I would say it doesn't hurt  Grin...

Where some would say i dont subscribe to Sola-Scriptura 100% I believe I do by this...

1 Corinthians 11:2 I praise you because you remember me in everything and maintain the traditions just as I passed them on to you.