OrthodoxChristianity.net
October 25, 2014, 09:28:38 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Why must the church be united in America?  (Read 4154 times) Average Rating: 0
bob

« on: March 02, 2010, 04:22:42 AM »

As a good Canadian, I will apologize in advance if this is not the proper section or if this issue has been banned.  Grin

As a Canadian, I'm pretty new to this whole issue of "unity" among the Orthodox churches.  It's not really that big of an issue up here as we have very few 3rd/4rth generation "ethnic" Orthodox who don't feel "ethnic" (um... you guys know what I mean right), and we have very few converts.  From afar, those two issues seems to be the main drivers behind this issue in the US.

I really don't understand why some believe there must be one Orthodox church administration.  How does it really help in anything?  In real terms, how does it help?  Frankly, I see more negatives.

It seems like the anti-GOA crowd doesn't understand that for a lot of Greeks who support the GOA, the Greek aspect is just as important, if not more important.   If they stopped supporting the GOA, many (most?) GOA churches and programs would disappear.  While I'm sure some would be happy, how would that really help Orthodoxy in the US?  It's the same in the other "ethnic" churches. (I guess this goes to a much bigger issue beyond Orthodoxy that too many people fail to see that religion and culture go hand-in-hand and are not two completely separate things).