OrthodoxChristianity.net
August 28, 2014, 09:26:15 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1 2 All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Paying for Orthodox Baptism?  (Read 12333 times) Average Rating: 0
theotokos

Faith: former muslim want to be an orthodox

Orthodox from Istanbul.

« on: January 15, 2010, 04:59:15 AM »

Yesterday I posted a topic about getting some information about baptism in Greece. And I got this reply:
Oh, that's why he insists so bad Turkey recognizing him as an Ecumenical Patriarch, hmm...
That also explains his words; "Every day I am being crucified in Turkey.", sad story.

I live in Athens, but I'm not an expert. I know a certain priest (not personally, but I can get his phone easily) who is excellent, he also has an amazing radio show. Most of them can speak English properly, not a big deal.
Every temple is so not-modern in Athens, so any will just do. I recommend avoiding expensive and big churches, choose a small and nice one. For practical reasons. And because they're cuter. Tongue

So, have you chosen a name yet? Grin

I don't have to pay a church for them to baptize me...right? That sounds stupid...

ἡ ἀγάπη ἀνυπόκριτος. ἀποστυγοῦντες τὸ πονηρόν, κολλώμενοι τῶ ἀγαθῶ·
Alveus Lacuna
Taxiarches

Faith: Orthodox
Jurisdiction: OCA

« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2010, 05:06:09 AM »

Maybe he meant churches that were expensive to build.

By the way, some churches do request a donation for baptism, particularly if the priest has to travel a long way to perform the ceremony.  In your situation, I would guess not.  I also think money for a baptism is ridiculous.  If they ask, just refuse to pay it and tell them you'll stay Muslim if Christ costs money. Wink