OrthodoxChristianity.net
December 20, 2014, 08:37:51 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Christ is born in Arabic text?  (Read 3561 times) Average Rating: 0
orthoi

Faith: Orthodox
Jurisdiction: OCA

« on: December 04, 2009, 12:12:35 PM »

I'm just starting to learn Arabic, and would like to learn the Nativity greeting, Christ is born, Glorify Him, but see it written in Arabic text.

For the record, my current teacher is Moroccan, and I've been told when I try to speak Arabic to the Yemeni immigrants where I live that my accent is worse than usual for an American, because my teacher is Moroccan.

Thanks.
ialmisry
There's nothing John of Damascus can't answer
Moderated
Hypatos

Faith: جامعي Arab confesssing the Orthodox Faith of the One, Holy, Catholic and Apostolic Church
Jurisdiction: Antioch (for now), but my heart belongs to Alexandria

« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2009, 01:09:50 PM »

I'm just starting to learn Arabic, and would like to learn the Nativity greeting, Christ is born, Glorify Him, but see it written in Arabic text.

For the record, my current teacher is Moroccan, and I've been told when I try to speak Arabic to the Yemeni immigrants where I live that my accent is worse than usual for an American, because my teacher is Moroccan.

Thanks.

LOL.  I'm suprised they can understand you at all, if you are speaking colloquial (most Moroccans who speak al-fuSHA, however, speak it flawlessly.

I don't have Arabic script on this computer, but the greeting is "wulida-al-masiiH! majjiduuh!"

Question a friend, perhaps he did not do it; but if he did anything so that he may do it no more.
A hasty quarrel kindles fire,
and urgent strife sheds blood.