OrthodoxChristianity.net
October 23, 2014, 04:27:00 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: The Renaissance, Da Vinci and Classical Traditions  (Read 804 times) Average Rating: 0
88Devin12
Warned
Protokentarchos

Faith: Orthodox Christian
Jurisdiction: OCA

« on: November 21, 2009, 02:54:52 AM »

As I've been exploring more and more what I want to do in my life as an architect, I've discovered that I've found a love and passion for classical architecture, including those renaissance and post-renaissance revivalist styles. I've also begun thinking that instead of being simply an artist, as the current post-modern architecture world views architects as being, I've been looking back to older examples of architects such as Vitruvius, Palladio and Leonardo Da Vinci. These men were not just architects, but many other things as well, especially Leonardo Da Vinci.

So I was wondering, should there be any problem between Orthodoxy and this part of my secular life? That is, if I value Renaissance and western views on architecture, and even hold Da Vinci and these others as models, would there be any conflict or problem with Orthodoxy and an Orthodox mindset?

I know Da Vinci did some questionable things, but the man was a genius and I haven't ever heard of the Orthodox Church condemning most of his actions for any reason.

As an Orthodox Christian, is it okay and right for me to hold classical and renaissance-style views in my secular profession?
augustin717
Taxiarches

Faith: The other ROC

« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2009, 03:16:01 AM »

The Church doesn't micromanage your life like that. Only the sects do it.

Pravoslavbob
Archon

Faith: Orthodox Catholic