Author Topic: Becoming a Catechumen  (Read 147 times)

Offline ComingofAge

• Bondservant
  • Glory to the Father, Son and Holy Spirit
  • Faith: Christian
  • Jurisdiction: Antiochian
Becoming a Catechumen
« on: May 25, 2016, 11:16:56 PM »
So I have been talking with my priest and hanging out with him one on one now and it is very wonderful taking direction from him and relishing in his fellowship. I have been attending my parish for 3 months now and my priest and I have now begun talks about me becoming a catechumen. We have mutually decided that Pentecost would be a good time for me to take that first step. I am excited about beginning the process of becoming Orthodox.

I have had the pleasure of experiencing my first Great Lent, Palm Sunday, Holy Week and Pascha within an Orthodox church and wow...what can I say? It was nothing short of amazing. Some of the services during Holy Week brought me to tears and also made me feel a connection to the Lord like I have never felt before.

My question is...(and I'm sure it has been asked here before) are there any suggestions that any of you may have for a newbie? So far I am volunteering as much as I can around the parish, meeting with other members of the church, talking to my priest on a regular basis and trying to live a holy life. What else should one be doing in these early stages? Maybe nothing at all....maybe something more...I'm sure there is not necessarily one right answer, but I just wanted to get your take on it... from those who have been Orthodox for awhile. Thank you very much for any and all replies.

In Christ,
CoA
Glory to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit, now and ever and unto ages of ages. Amen.

Offline RaphaCam

• High Elder
  • Sublime Augustine, wise writer of the City of God
  • Faith: Orthodox
  • Jurisdiction: Church of Poland - Archeparchy of Brazil
Re: Becoming a Catechumen
« Reply #1 on: Yesterday at 12:24:39 AM »