Author Topic: My wife wants to convert problem...  (Read 618 times)

Offline Jbhk1976

• Faith: Orthodox Christian
  • Jurisdiction: Moscow Patriarch
My wife wants to convert problem...
« on: May 31, 2016, 10:06:43 AM »
Hello,
I have been reading this forum for quite some time but this is my first time posting.
I have a big problem...
I have been going to a Russian Orthodox church.for close.to a year now.
I am not baptised yet or an "official" part of the church.
My wife is / was catholic,  and she has attended a few services with me in the past. On a whim we went to the Greek church 2 weeks ago and my wife fell in love.with it amd cornered the Bishop after service and asked about conversion for herself and baptism for myself. (This service is in english the other is in Slavonic, english and mandarin.)
My wife insists on the Greek church and today was my talk about baptism with the father for the Russian church...
I feel horrible i couldnt bring myself to tell him, i just told him I want to wait on the baptism as my wife wants to convert...he came back from a trip and gave me a small icon...i couldnt bring myself to tell him,.hey.thanks for the Icon, im.not coming.back...
Any advice? I feel like im being unfaithful to my wife...

Offline DeniseDenise

• Taxiarches
  • This place holds to nothing....
  • Faith: Does it matter?
  • Jurisdiction: Unverifiable, so irrelevant
Re: My wife wants to convert problem...
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2016, 10:10:41 AM »
I would just tell him that your wife is more comfortable with the English service, and leave it at that. He should still be happy that you are being received into THE CHURCH (because it is the same Church, no matter what might be implied).  thank him for all his help....and once you are both received into the church you can visit there on occasion.
All opinions expressed by myself are quite tragically my own, and not those of any other poster or wall hangings.

Offline ahmad seraphim

• why am I here?