OrthodoxChristianity.net
September 23, 2014, 02:32:37 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Marian Beliefs as Precondition to Baptism  (Read 1844 times) Average Rating: 0
Logan46

« on: October 13, 2009, 06:29:46 PM »

I am studying orthodoxy and accept the beliefs in the Nicene Creed, as I understand them.  Although not a Christian, I was raised in a Protestant home.  As such, some of the teachings regarding Mary, raise questions.  I accept the virgin birth and the concept of theotokos as it relates to the nature of Christ.

However, some of the church's other teachings such as Mary's sinlessness and her continued virginity, are problematical.  I don't deny then and I can accept them as logical and more than likely, but do I believe it absolutely to the point I would stake my soul on it, I'm not so certain.

My question is simple:  do I have to believe, with absolute certainty, of Mary's sinlessness and continued virginity, to be baptized orthodox?
ialmisry
There's nothing John of Damascus can't answer
Warned
Hypatos

Faith: جامعي Arab confesssing the Orthodox Faith of the One, Holy, Catholic and Apostolic Church
Jurisdiction: Antioch (for now), but my heart belongs to Alexandria

« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2009, 06:58:54 PM »

I wasn't when I was chrismated.

Question a friend, perhaps he did not do it; but if he did anything so that he may do it no more.
A hasty quarrel kindles fire,
and urgent strife sheds blood.
If you blow on a spark, it will glow;
if you spit on it, it will be put out;
                           and both come out of your mouth
Justin Kissel
Formerly Asteriktos
Protospatharios

« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2009, 07:19:13 PM »