OrthodoxChristianity.net
October 23, 2014, 02:19:12 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Use of Language in Orthodoxy  (Read 1482 times) Average Rating: 0
Super Apostolic Bros.
Is St. Andrew Luigi to St. Peter's Mario?

Faith: Orthodox
Jurisdiction: GOA

« on: September 11, 2009, 12:31:21 PM »

Greetings.

Full disclosure: My background is that my father's side of the family is devoutly RCC, my mother's side is protestant, and I would describe myself as protestant. I've recently had a historical and spiritual interest in Orthodoxy.

My question is, what do Orthdox consider the "appropriate" language to use in Liturgy? I know some of the saints translated the scriptures and liturgy to, say, Slavonic in order to evangelize to the Slavs and therefore are a bit more liberal in this regard than the RCC (of old). The thing is some Orthodox today argue against modernizing liturgy, insisting on "old" languages like ecclesial Greek and church Slavonic as opposed to modern Greek, Russian or English.

Thought?

And apologies in advance if this sounds assinine.
LizaSymonenko
Слава Ісусу Христу!!! Glory to Jesus Christ!!!
Global Moderator
Toumarches

Faith: God's Holy Catholic and Apostolic Orthodox Church
Jurisdiction: Ukrainian Orthodox Church of the U.S.A.

« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2009, 12:50:47 PM »

Welcome to the Forum, Super Apostolic Bros.

I've been to a number of churches, and have heard the Divine Liturgy prayed in various languages.

I don't believe there is any one language "preferred" over another.