OrthodoxChristianity.net
July 30, 2014, 03:42:29 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Reminder: No political discussions in the public fora.  If you do not have access to the private Politics Forum, please send a PM to Fr. George.

Home   Help Calendar Contact Treasury Tags Login Register  
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Help with Russian Greetings?  (Read 2335 times) Average Rating: 0
Liz
High Elder

Faith: Church of England

« on: July 06, 2009, 03:34:17 AM »

Hi, just posted this because I thought resurrecting an old thread might be confusing. I wondered if anyone could give me some common greetings/ phrases in Russian and spell out how they sound?

I'm just learning and I find the sounds of the Cyrillic alphabet hard to master. I'd love to know how to say a few useful things, because at the moment my vocabulary is limited to things like 'god bless', 'love you' and, for some reason, the names of a lot of animals! Let's say my partner isn't the most systematic teacher ...

I'd like to be able to speak a little to my partner's parents, so I'd like to know slightly more formal/polite greetings - all I hear from my partner is 'hi, mum!'

Thanks ;-)
Heorhij
Merarches

Faith: Orthodox
Jurisdiction: GOA, for now, but my heart belongs to the Ukrainian Orthodox Church

« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2009, 10:07:54 AM »

Hi Liz,

Here are some common Russian greetings.

A. When you see someone and say hello.

1. Здравствуйте! (ZdrUH-vstvooj-tye) - literally "be well," a rather official, not very warm, said to people whom you might not know or to colleagues, etc., with whom you might not be close friends. The last syllabus, "tye," may be omitted if you are greeting a child.

2.  Привет! (Pree-vYEt) - a more personal, warm greeting, said to someone whom you know well, a friend, a family member etc.

3. Доброе утро! (DO-bro-ye OOtruh) - "good morning," said to pretty much anyone in the morning.